Germany declares South and North Holland as a risk area due to corona virus


Due to the increased number of new corona infections, the German government has declared the provinces of South Holland and North Holland to be at risk. The federal Robert Koch Institute (RKI), the equivalent of the Dutch RIVM, published an updated list of corona risk areas on Wednesday.

The central criterion for classification as an at-risk area is which states or regions had more than 50 newly infected people per 100,000 inhabitants in the past seven days. Vienna and Budapest were also placed on the list of risk areas.

Travel warning is not a ban

Usually, shortly after classification as a risk area, a corresponding travel warning from the German Ministry of Foreign Affairs follows. Such a travel warning goes further: although it is not a ban, it must have a significant deterrent effect. However, it also has a positive side for consumers: it allows travelers to cancel bookings free of charge.

Belgium went one step further earlier in the day. That country gave both Dutch provinces code red from Friday afternoon. Anyone traveling from these provinces to Belgium after a stay of at least two days must undergo a corona test and be quarantined.

Also read: Belgium will give North and South Holland code red from Friday



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here