Van Avermaet and Naesen have already been allowed to play a teammate at the European Championship, Evenepoel defends title | European cycling championships


National coach Rik Verbrugghe has unveiled the Belgian selection for the European Cycling Championships in Plouay (24-28 August). Remco Evenepoel may again go for European Championship gold in the time trial. The road selection is led by Greg Van Avermaet, Oliver Naesen and Jasper Stuyven.

Compiling the European Championship selection was no easy task for national coach Rik Verbrugghe.

“I was unable to select certain riders because of their busy schedule or the corona protocol of their teams”, says Verbrugghe. “So I was not able to put together the team that I wanted.”

The selection for the road race in Plouay nevertheless counts a string of big names, including Oliver Naesen, Greg Van Avermaet, Jasper Stuyven and Sep Vanmarcke.

In the time trial, defending champion Remco Evenepoel makes his appearance, together with Victor Campenaerts (who was the fastest against the clock in 2017 and 2018).

Among the women, the name of cyclist Sanne Cant stands out in the road selection. Belgian champions Jesse Vandenbulcke and Lotte Kopecky are also present in Plouay.

Selection European Championship on the road (men)
Victor Campenaerts
Xandro Meurisse
Oliver Naesen
Jasper Philipsen
Jasper Stuyven
Greg Van Avermaet
Sep Vanmarcke
Otto Vergaerde
Reserves: Aimé De Gendt, Stan Dewulf, Edward Theuns and Loïc Vliegen
Selection European Championship on the road (women)
True Cant
Valerie Demey
Lotte Kopecky
Jesse Vandenbulcke
Kelly Van den Steen
Julie Van de Velde
Reserve: Mieke Docx
Selection European Championship time trial (men)
Victor Campenaerts
Remco Evenepoel
No reserve
Selection European Championship time trial (women)
Sara Van de Vel
Julie Van de Velde
Reserve: Ann-Sophie Duyck


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here