Rowland wins fifth Formula E race Berlin, Frijns finishes P2


20:35 – Oliver Rowland has won round ten of the 2019/2020 Formula E Championship. The English driver of Nissan e.dams had left the race in Berlin from pole. Robin Frijns (Envision) was neatly second, ahead of René Rast (Audi) on P3.

The fifth ePrix at Tempelhof Airport was held on a new runway configuration that was 130 meters longer than the previous circuit. Perhaps that was the reason why the four (former) Formula E champions Antonio Felix da Costa, Jean-Eric Vergne, Lucas di Grassi and Sébastien Buemi missed their qualifying and had to leave the grid from behind.

The lack of four top drivers at the front of the grid gave Rowland that little bit of rest he needed to win his first-ever Formula E race. The 28-year-old driver led from start to finish and had a 1.9 seconds lead on the line over Frijns, who took his second podium in a row in Berlin.

Immediately after the start, Frijns dared to catch up on Rowland, but he defended competently and was hardly in danger, not even when Frijns was the first of the leading duo to use his attack mode. Behind Frijns it was Rast who started from fourth place, but ended up last on the podium. This was preceded by a fight with Andre Lotterer in which the two drove into each other’s wheels. The actions were ‘under investigation’ and so Rast is not yet sure of his stage.

Lucas di Grassi was sentenced to five seconds for his role in an incident with the new champion Antonio Felix da Costa. The two were making a nice advance through the backfield, but the Brazilian cut off Felix da Costa irregularly at a good moment in turn 1, causing both to fall far back.

Nyck de Vries finished the race in fourteenth place, his Mercedes teammate Stoffel Vandoorne was ninth.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here