Europa League: Sevilla vs. Roma, live broadcast


Almost five months after the first match between them was canceled due to the outbreak of the Corona plague, Sevilla and Rome will meet tonight (Thursday) for a knockout battle for a place in the Europa League quarterfinals, which will be held at the MSV Arena in Duisburg, Germany (19:45, live broadcast in Sports1). The Spanish team, the factory-winning champion (5), wants to atone for the surprising relegation in the last 16 stage against Slavia Prague last year and continue their journey to the Cup, before returning to the Champions League next year. The Italians, who were also eliminated at this point in the 2018/19 season, dream of winning their first ever international title.

Sevilla won a rest ahead of tonight’s meeting, having finished the Spanish league about two and a half weeks ago when they are in fourth place in the table and with five wins in the last six rounds. Julen Luftaghi’s side have not lost in their last 17 games and they certainly do not want to do so tonight. The coach debated between his two goalkeepers, but eventually gave the team shirt to Bono. Jesus Navas and Ibrahim Amado will open as defenders, with Aber Banga leading the midfield and Lucas Occampus, one of the Andalusians’ standouts this season, coming up on the offensive alongside Soso and Yusuf a-Nasiri.

Roma come with no less good momentum than their opponent, with a streak of four wins and eight unbeaten games in Serie A, when in the last round they defeated champions Juventus 1: 3. The lengthening of the season has come in favor of the Gallurosi, because thanks to it they will be able to enjoy tonight the services of star Niccolo Zaniolu, who was injured at the original date of the match and has since recovered. Coach Paulo Fonseca lost stopper Chris Smalling, whose loan deal ended and returned to Manchester United. Together with Zaniolu, Henrik Mkhitaryan and Edin Dzeko will come up in the front and try to score the goals that will take the team from the Italian capital to the next stage.

The vehicles

Seville: Bono, Jesus Navas, Jules Conde, Diego Carlos, Ibrahim Amado, Fernando, Aber Banga, Joan Jordan, Lucas Occampus, Soso, Yosef a-Nasiri.

Rome: Pau Lopez, Gianluca Mancini, Roger Ibanez, Alexander Kolarov, Bruno Perez, Brian Cristante, Amado Diovera, Leonardo Spinazzola, Niccolò Zanyolo, Henrik Mkhitaryan, Edin Dzeko.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here