Arnaud Démare triumphs in sprint edition Milan-Turin, Van Poppel fifth


Arnaud Démare triumphs in sprint edition Milan-Turin, Van Poppel fifth

Wednesday, August 5, 2020 at 6:12 PM

Arnaud Démare has put the 101st Milan-Turin to his name. In the mass sprint he managed to reward the teamwork of Groupama-FDJ. With his victory, the Frenchman joins an illustrious list of riders who triumphed in both Milan-San Remo and Milan-Turin.

For this 101st edition, the organization had ironed the final phase of the route. The double climb to the Basilica of Superga was canceled, so that the one-day race could manifest itself as a preparatory race for Milan-San Remo. From Mesero, the route headed southwest to the Stupinigi hunting palace, where it arrived. There were a few short climbs along the way, but the last seventy kilometers were almost flat.

Six escapees
The race was only a few minutes away when the leading group emerged. The Italians Manuele Boaro, Alessandro Tonelli, Davide Villella, Samuele Rivi and Andrea Garosio and the Belgian Gijs Van Hoecke joined forces and quickly left the peloton. After the first hour, the lead of the six refugees had already increased to more than seven minutes. It was not long before the tempo was accelerated.

Around half course the peloton had narrowed the difference, after which it was kept stable for a longer period between three and three and a half minutes. At the turn of the last sixty kilometers, the lead went under three minutes due to the sprint teams BORA-hansgrohe, Deceuninck-Quick Step, Groupama-FDJ and Lotto Soudal. And at 45 kilometers there was another minute off.

photo: Color Vos

A mass sprint was written in the stars and that was the way it went. At 35 kilometers from the finish, Garosio was the first rider to drop out at the front, so that the leading group still consisted of five riders. The seconds then ticked away from the lead of the other escapees and with a minute margin they started the last twenty kilometers. When the difference was still half a minute, Rivi accelerated together with Boaro.

Final startled by crash
The two Italians drove together for some time and at eleven kilometers from the finish Boaro shook off his compatriot, but a little later all the escapees, partly due to Vincenzo Nibali’s headline, were caught. At six kilometers from the finish, the peloton was startled by a crash. At a traffic island, things went wrong for several riders, including Timothy Dupont, Alex Edmondson, Yves Lampaert, Michael Mørkøv and Luca Pacioni.

There was no time to wait, and the men of Lotto Soudal and BORA-hansgrohe pulled the pack back on a ribbon. In the final phase, the train of Groupama-FDJ came forward for Arnaud Démare. The French sprinter did not disappoint and rewarded the work of his team mates with a powerful sprint. Caleb Ewan took second place, Wout van Aert third. Danny van Poppel finished fifth behind Peter Sagan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here