the European Union reopens its borders


From today the European Union reopens its external borders to 15 third countries, including China but on condition of reciprocity. The United States remains off the list. The 15 countries are: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity. The list will be updated every two weeks. Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican should be considered residents of the EU for the purpose of this recommendation. Italy will maintain the quarantine obligation for those arriving from outside Schengen. The criteria for determining the third countries for which the current travel restriction should be lifted concern the epidemiological situation and containment measures, including physical distances, as well as economic and social considerations and are applied cumulatively. As regards the epidemiological situation, the third countries listed should meet some criteria: a number of new Covid-19 cases in the last 14 days per 100,000 inhabitants close to or below the EU average (as it was on 15 June 2020); stable or decreasing trend of new cases in this period compared to the previous 14 days; of the global response to Covid-19 taking into account the information available, including aspects such as testing, surveillance, contact traceability, containment, processing and communication, as well as the reliability of the information.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here