Lierse K. promotes to 1B with seven teams



The next two seasons, only seven teams will play in 1B. That was decided by the general meeting of the Pro League on Friday. Lierse Kempenzonen, the only remaining amateur club to have a professional license, will be fished for the 2020-2021 season. Every week there will be a ‘bye’ club. The 1B finalists of the 2019-2020 season, OH Leuven and Beerschot, will be included in 1A.

ALSO READ. With 18 clubs and mini play-offs, everything you need to know about the new league format

The general meeting of the Pro League gave the green light on Friday in Diegem for a Jupiler Pro League with eighteen teams, including Waasland-Beveren, Beerschot and OH Leuven. In 1B they are left with six teams (Westerlo, Union, Lommel, Deinze, Seraing and RWDM), but Lierse Kempenzonen also has a professional license. In order to achieve a competition of 7 teams, the merged team is fished out. This also means that a team does not come into action every match day. From the 2022-2023 season, 1B will again consist of eight teams.

The promotion for Lierse Kempenzonen is half a miracle, because the club fought for a long time and was only thirteenth in the first national. The Kempen merger club brought together the bankrupt Lierse SK and Oosterzonen two years ago.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here