Belgian league expands to eighteen clubs after lost lawsuit | NOW


The Jupiler Pro League will feature eighteen instead of sixteen clubs in the next two seasons. The highest division of Belgium decided this on Friday at a general meeting.

That meeting followed a day after the court ruled in favor of Waasland-Beveren in a lawsuit against the organization of the Belgian league. The club successfully contested relegation after the season was halted due to the corona virus.

Due to the expansion of the league, OHL and Beerschot will both play in the Jupiler Pro League next season. Those clubs would play the return in the final of the playoffs for promotion on Sunday.

Because the competition will contain more rounds of play, the playoffs will be shortened. The second division in Belgium will only consist of seven clubs next season.

Eighteen clubs will also play at the highest level in the 2021/2022 season. At the end of that year, three clubs will be relegated and only one will be promoted, so that after the summer of 2022 the league will again consist of sixteen clubs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here