16-year-old Afrifa crowned Israeli champion in the 20th century


In the shadow of the Corona’s limitations, the 84th Israeli Athletics Championships opened today (Monday) at the Hadar Yosef Stadium and we got to know a new name: Blessing Afrippa, who was crowned Israeli Champion in the 100-meter dash.

Afrifa, only 16.5 years old and a son of derogatory parents who received his Israeli citizenship only this month, stopped the clock at 10:49 seconds, which is a new Israeli record for cadets. Afrippa improved his personal best twice and ousted last year’s champion Emery Preciado, who came in second in a time of 10:61 seconds. In the women’s parallel run, in the absence of Israeli champion Diana Weissman, we got a real drama, when Daniel Polster stumbled towards the finish line and Nitzan Levy won the title in a time of 12:03 seconds.

We will move on to the 1500-meter run, in which Luna Chamtai Salpter, Israel’s senior athlete, was crowned champion with a time of 4:17:96 minutes. In the men’s parallel run, David Taicho picked up the title for the third time in a row after a close battle with Girma Amara after stopping the clock at 3:54:20 minutes.

In the women’s high jump we got the spicy story of the day when Hanin Nasser, the Israeli champion of the last two years, was eliminated at an early stage after sculpting a height of 1.70 meters. Daniel Frenkel, the Israeli champion, regained the title from 2011 when she passed a height of 1.75 meters in the first attempt. The one who surprised everyone present at the stadium and also herself was Maayan Shahaf, who in her retirement competition and after not training since February, finished in second place after passing 1.75 meters in the second attempt.

Additional winners in the competition:
Women’s pole vault – Naama Bernstein, 4 meters.
Women’s Ironball – Estel and Hanu, 13.01 meters.
110 Women’s hurdles – Alexandra Location, 13.96 seconds.
Women’s Triple Jump – Marina River, 12.54 meters.
Women’s hammer throw – Margarita in Libya, 56.35 meters.
Women’s 400m – Juman Jubran, 56.76 seconds.
Men’s Hammer Throw – Victor Zginiaku, 57.08 meters.
Men’s 110m hurdles – Dor Hayun, 14.36 seconds.
Men’s Triple Jump – Eli Foreman, 14.94 meters.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here