Three U.S. states have imposed 14-day isolation for those arriving from eight other states


Three U.S. states – the state of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut – will impose 14 days of self-isolation on travelers from other U.S. states where coronavirus contagion cases are on the rise. The three states, in particular New York, were among the worst affected by the pandemic a few months ago. There are currently eight states whose travelers will be subject to self-isolation: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas and Utah.

The governors of the state of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut have made it known that other states could be added, and others perhaps removed, as the number of new positive cases in each state changes. The eight states currently on the list are present because they had on average more than 10 positives for every 100 thousand inhabitants or an increase in cases, calculated as a seven-day moving average, equal to or greater than 10 percent.

Andrew Cuomo, governor of New York state, said the new taxes also apply to citizens residing in New York (or New Jersey or Connecticut) but who are currently in one of the other states. Always Cuomo, said that those who violate the rules on self-isolation in New York state may have to pay up to $ 2,000 in fines, which will become $ 10,000 in the case of repeated violations.

– Also read: In the United States, the first wave is not over

As explained on New York Times, “So far only very few states – including Maine, Rhode Island and Hawaii – have imposed isolation on those arriving from other states,” and “many other states have simply recommended, not imposed, self-isolation.”

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here