Google updates privacy. What changes on data and incognito browsing

0
7


mountain view

A series of privacy updates from the Mountain View giant have been announced. The stated goal is to “manage” less predefined information in the default settings

by L.Tre.

A series of privacy updates from the Mountain View giant have been announced. The stated goal is to “manage” less predefined information in the default settings

2 ‘of reading

Google will retain less data than before on its products. A series of privacy updates from the Mountain View giant have been announced. The stated goal is to “manage” in the default settings less information in order to lighten the load of sensitive data without having to intervene by changing the settings. As we read in the Google blog, automatic deletion becomes the default option in the activity settings.

Automatic deletion of position history after 18 months.

From today, the first time you activate Location History – which is deactivated by default – you will have an automatic setting of 18 months as the default option for data deletion. This means that the data on our activities will be automatically deleted after 18 months, instead of being kept until you decide to delete them. The same goes for Web and App Activities on new accounts. Of course, you can turn off this setting and change the options for automatic deletion.If you had already turned on Location History and Web and App Activities, we won’t change your settings.

On YouTube, the data will be automatically deleted after 36 months.

Same goes, for example, for Youtube. The automatic deletion of information will be set by default to 36 months when you create a new account or if you activate History for the first time. This improves current industry standards and at the same time allows YouTube to continue making useful recommendations based on the videos you have already seen or listened to – for example warning you when a new season of your favorite series comes out, or when a musician has released a new album. Those who already use YouTube can always choose automatic deletion at 3 or 18 months. Importantly, this does not apply to products such as Gmail, Drive and Photos, which are designed to safely store your personal content for longer times.

Checking the Google Account directly on the search engine

Basically when you’re on the search engine as a registered user, looking for things like “Google Privacy Checkup” or “Is My Google Account Safe?” a box will appear – visible only to you – which will show you what your privacy and security settings are, so that you can check and possibly change them

Easier access to incognito mode:

As Google writes, it is one of the most used apps, It can be activated by prolonged pressing of your profile image on the search engine, on Maps and on YouTube. This option is available today on the Google app for iOS, and soon on Android and other apps.



Source link
https://www.ilsole24ore.com/art/google-aggiorna-privacy-ecco-cosa-cambia-dati-e-navigazione-incognito-ADSpJKa

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here