Special defense: regret from 10 EU foreign ministers for the US choice of exit from the Open Skies Treaty


Brussels, 25 May 13:15 – (Nova Agency) – Foreign ministers of Belgium, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Spain and Sweden expressed regret for the United States of America’s decision to withdraw from the Open Skies Treaty and in a joint statements said that the treaty is a crucial element in improving transparency and security throughout the euro-atlantic area. “We will continue to implement the Open Skies Treaty, which has clear added value for our conventional arms control architecture and cooperative security. We reaffirm that this treaty remains functional and useful,” they wrote in a reprimanded statement. The ten ministers, however, share US concerns over Russia’s compliance with the pact and have called on Moscow to lift restrictions on flights, particularly the Kaliningrad region, which is located in an area among the allied countries of the Born, Lithuania and Poland. (Beb) © Agenzia Nova – Reproduction reserved

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here