Greece from June 15 will open the borders to tourists from 29 countries, but not from Italy


The Greek government announced today that from June 15 it will be possible to visit the country for people from 29 countries, but not from Italy. Greek Tourism Minister Harry Theoharis clarified that the ban only affects the country of origin of the planes and not the nationality of tourists, who will be able to arrive in Greece with direct flights to Athens and Thessaloniki.

Greece thus tries to restart its economy in crisis due to the coronavirus emergency by returning to focus on tourism, a sector that contributes to more than 20 percent of Greek GDP. Theoharis explained: “Our goal is to be able to welcome all tourists who have overcome fear and have the opportunity to travel to our country”.

The 29 countries to which the borders will be opened are Albania, Australia, Austria, North Macedonia, Bulgaria, Germany, Denmark, Switzerland, Estonia, Japan, Israel, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lebanon, New Zealand, Lithuania, Malta , Montenegro, Norway, South Korea, Hungary, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, the Czech Republic and Finland. The list will be expanded from July 1st with other countries, Theoharis said.

– Also read: Herd immunity is still far away

Theoharis also specified that visitors who arrive from these countries could be subjected to sample tests for the detection of the coronavirus. In Greece at present, 2,906 cases of contagion and 175 deaths have been detected, but in the vast majority of the Greek islands, which are among the destinations preferred by tourists, cases of contagion have not been ascertained.

– Also read: The problem of swabs to those who are positive for serological tests

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here