Croatia reopens the borders to ten countries, there is no Italy – Europe


Croatia has reopened the borders without restrictions to citizens of 10 EU countries in an attempt to restart the collapsed tourism industry due to the pandemic. But not to the Italians. In fact, the measure applies only to some States judged with positive results in the containment of the coronavirus, namely Austria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.

With 4.2 million inhabitants, Croatia has had around 2,000 Covid-19 cases and a hundred deaths. When the country started easing the lockdown in early May, it opened borders for business travel or for those who owned a property or boat. From today, the citizens of these countries must not provide any justification for entry into Croatia.

Meanwhile, Austria and Switzerland, meanwhile, have excluded Italy for the moment from the group of countries to which they will reopen after the end of the lockdown in Europe. If for Vienna some Italian regions are “still an outbreak” of the coronavirus, for Bern the reopening of the southern borders (which include Piedmont and Lombardy) on June 3, when Italy will reopen its border with the Swiss Confederation unilaterally, is premature and travel, if possible for Swiss citizens, will not be recommended.

Switzerland respects Italy’s “sovereign decision” to reopen its borders on 3 June, but “we will not reopen”, Interior Minister Karin Keller-Sutter announced explaining that she had informed her counterpart Luciana Lamorgese, with whom she will remain in contact “to coordinate the next steps”. “We are inclined, like the other neighboring countries, for a coordinated opening”, explained the minister. At this point, the reopening of the Swiss border could slip until 6 July, when freedom of movement in the Schengen area will be completely restored. In the meantime, access to more than 70 thousand cross-border workers remains.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here