Coronavirus. In June Italy reopens its borders, but where can Italians travel?


Turkey, Portugal, Latvia, Serbia, Kosovo, Albania and finally the “frugal” Netherlands. These are the European and Mediterranean countries whose doors are, in the current state of things and with the Coronavirus epidemic still ongoing, open without restrictions to Italians who want to go on vacation. A short list that gives the measure of the fear of the contagion that still reigns and how Italy is viewed from outside. So much so that yesterday Luigi Di Maio asked the EU countries not to see Italy as a “lazaretto”.

The Foreign Minister will leave on a short diplomatic “tour” this week – after the visit by French Foreign Minister Le Drian on June 3, Friday 5 Di Maio will go to Germany, Saturday in Slovenia and Tuesday 9 in Greece – to try to disassemble some of these fears and reticences, behind which Di Maio also sees the shadow of unfair competition (for heaven’s sake, I also understand competition between individual states, it is legitimate, provided that it is healthy and fairยป, he wrote on Facebook). It is essential to restart travel to and from Italy, not only to allow trips and holidays abroad, but also and above all to save our tourism.

The countries that have closed their doors

Among the countries where – in the current state of affairs – Italian tourists will not be able to go there is also Greece, the last destination of Minister Di Maio. Same decision taken by Austria, Denmark, Germany, Malta, Finland, Poland, Romania, Hungary, Sweden, Slovakia, Czech Republic, Belgium, Bosnia, Norway, Montenegro, Ukraine and finally Russia.

Austria, for example, plans to reopen its borders with some neighboring countries, such as Germany, but not with Italy. Same story for Switzerland: borders are closed for the time being, but from 15 June they should reopen to Germany, France and Austria. But not with Italy.

Semi-open doors: the new restrictions

The list is long but does not cover all the countries of the European Union, some of which will reopen borders shortly, while maintaining some restrictions. Like France, where from 15 June you can enter with a good health self-certification. Not everyone will do it at the same time: the incoming quarantine will be in Spain for another month.

The United Kingdom, on the other hand, is more cautious: from June there is a mandatory two-week quarantine for anyone who enters the country from abroad, under penalty of payment of a fine of around 1,100 euros (for the moment there is no “expiration” ). Ireland, Bulgaria and Northern Macedonia are also following the example of the United Kingdom, while Iceland – where incoming quarantine is currently practiced – should move to a less restrictive regime by 15 June. Those who dreamed of a trip on the eastern shores of the Adriatic can also console themselves with Croatia, but be careful, you must show the reservation of a room in a hotel at customs.

Read also:

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here