E-Prix de Mexico: Evans triumphs, the Mercedes give up.


Mexico has kept all its promises in terms of spectacle.

By Nicolas Louineau.

André Lotterer started from pole position for the first time in the history of Porsche in Formula E, but it was the Jaguar that quickly took control of the race to set a very high pace. Many pilots have had to give up, including former championship leader Stoffel Vandoorne.

As the former teammate of the reigning double World Champion set off for the pole, the New Zealand driver (Mitch Evans) quickly squeezed into the lead to the checkered flag. André Lotterer had difficulties at the start of the race and had to give up after hitting the wall.

The rookie, Nyck De Vries, had all his chances to seek his first podium in the 100% electric category since he was 2nd after overtaking the Porsche driver. A little too aggressive in his maneuvers at the start of the race, the Dutchman hung on with Envision Virgin pilot Robin Frijns, which forced him to retire. His teammate, Stoffel Vandoorne, was positioned 5th before hitting the wall under pressure from Alexander Sims (BMW). He dropped out on the last lap.

The British pilot, Sam Bird, went straight into the wall 3 minutes from the end when he was 2nd in front of Antonio Félix Da Costa.

Turn 1 caused further damage, including GEOX Dragon driver Nico Müller and former Formula 1 driver Felipe Massa.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here