RESULT STAGE 9 VUELTA. Ackermannn takes victory by declasser …


Pascal Ackermann won the ninth stage in the Vuelta, from Castrillo del Val to Aguilar de Campoo. The German from Bora-Hansgrohe crossed the line second in a bunch sprint, but Sam Bennett was downgraded because he carried out a shoulder push on Emils Liepins twice in preparation for the sprint. Gerben Thijssen moved up to second place, Jasper Philipsen to fourth. Richard Carapaz remains the leader.

Leader jersey: Richard Carapaz

Pointed jersey: Primoz Roglic

Mountain jersey: Guillaume Martin

White sweater: Enric Mas

How did victory come about?

Colombian Juan Felipe Osorio (Burgos – BH) and Spaniard Aritz Bagues (Caja Rural) quickly attacked, but the sprinter teams, with Deceuninck-Quick-Step in the lead, always kept the gap within shot. Their adventure was over at 22 km from the finish. So there was spurt as expected. Bora-Hansgrohe took the helm in the final kilometers but, Sam Bennett, perfectly piloted by Michael Morkov, re-assembled Pascal Ackermann.

Yet it was not a second stage victory for the Irishman in this Vuelta. In preparation for the finish, Bennett pushed his shoulder twice against Emils Liepins in order not to lose Morkov’s wheel. The jury therefore declassified the Deceuninck-Quick-Step rider. For Patrick Lefevere it had nevertheless been the hundredth victory in a big round.

What did the favorites do?

They had a quiet day, although Primoz Roglic got a flat tire 13 km from the finish. He changed bikes and Paul Martens quickly brought him back into the peloton. It will also be up to the sprinters tomorrow, so that Carapaz and co. only really have to get back to work this weekend. And then an uphill finish awaits twice. Sundays even at the mythical Angliru.

How did the Belgians do it?

Gerben Thijssen sprinted well to second place. And that in his first big round. Earlier in this Vuelta, the Limburger of Lotto Soudal already finished fifth. Team mates Tim Wellens and Brent Van Moer also rode hard in the final for Thijssen.

Jasper Philipsen, second after Bennett on Friday, now finished fourth.

Anything else you should know?

Dylan van Baarle (INEOS Grenadiers) jumped out of the peloton to take away the bonuses behind the two breakaway. As if Primoz Roglic would try to take some seconds off Richard Carapaz. Or, bearing in mind the Giro, could every second count in this Vuelta?

Photo: AFP


1. Pascal Ackermann (Dui/BOH) de 157,7km in 3u39:55 (gem. 43,025387km/u)

2. Gerben Thijssen (Bel/LTS) z.t.

3. Max Kanter (Dui/SUN)

4. Jasper Philipsen (Bel / UAD)

5. Jakub Mareczko (Ita / CCC)

6. Alexis Renard (Fra/ISN)

7. Jon Aberasturi (Spa / CJR)

8. Lorrenzo Manzin (Fra / TDE)

Robert Stannard (Aus / MTS)

Reinardt Janse van Rensburg (ZAf / NTT)


1. Richard Carapaz (Ecu/IGD) de 1892,7km in 36u11:01 (gem. 52,308216km/u)

2. Primoz Roglic (Sln / TJV) at 0:13

3. Daniel Martin (Ier / ISN) 0:28

4. Hugh Carthy (GBr/EF1) 0:44

5. Enric Mas (Spa / MOV) 01:54

Felix Grosschartner (Oos / BOH) 03:28

7. Esteban Chaves (Col / MTS) 03:28

8. Alejandro Valverde (Spa / MOV) 03:35

9. Marc Soler (Spa/MOV) 03:40

10. Wout Poels (Ned / TBM) 03:47


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here