LIVE Walloon Arrow: “For once it can get exciting” | Walloon Arrow 2020


    1. Marlon Gaillard (FROM)
    2. Mathijs Paasschens (NED)
    3. Aaron Van Poucke (BEL)
    4. Mauri Vansevenant (BEL)
    leading group

    1. Marlon Gaillard (FROM)
    2. Mathijs Paasschens (NED)
    3. Aaron Van Poucke (BEL)
    4. Mauri Vansevenant (BEL)


The cycling year is turned upside down: after the Tour the classic spring races now follow. The Walloon Arrow may kick off the game. Who will succeed world champion Julian Alaphilippe?

  1. 12 hours 12. Normally there is nothing to do about Pogacar in terms of explosiveness today. No one would be surprised at a podium Pogacar-Hirschi-Kwiatkowski. Radio commentator Carl Berteele.
  2. 12 hours 09.6 in a row for Van der Breggen. Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig made another brave attempt, yet again there was no spice against Anna van der Breggen on the Wall of Huy. The Dutch world champion wins for the 6th year in a row. .
  3. Time difference. It is now clear that the flight of the day has been formed. Mauri Vansevenant (21) and Aaron Van Poucke (22) are two young Belgians. The other 2 are the Dutchman Mathijs Paasschens and the Frenchman Marlon Gaillard. They have 2’10 “. 12 hours 07.
  4. Problem for Hirschi. Marc Hirschi has to get some help from Sunweb’s car, because something is wrong with his bike. The Swiss won bronze at the World Cup last Sunday and is one of the favorites. Can he immediately win on his debut? . 12 hours 06.
  5. 12 hours 04. We have 3 riders in the team who have already proven themselves in the Ardennes classics (with Poels and Landa, red). My condition is not yet satisfactory, but the condition has been increasing since Tirreno. Dylan Teuns (Bahrain-Merida).
  6. 12 o’clock 04. Teuns: “Condition in an upward trend”.

    Teuns: “Condition in an upward trend”

  7. 12 hours 01. It has become a “butcher’s journey” for the pursuers, who are again caught up by the peloton. The 4 escapees then walk further away and already have a minute. .
  8. 11 hours 58. The 3 pursuers are called Brent Van Moer, Benjamin King and Kenny Molly. When they get to the front we get 4 Belgians in the leading group. .
  9. 11h55. In the men’s race, a trio of riders, including one from Lotto-Soudal, will look for the 4 leaders. Their assignment: make up for 45 seconds. .
  10. 11 hours 51. Final for the women. The women’s competition is in full final. A thinned out platoon, with all the big names, is on its way to the Wall of Huy. .
  11. 11 hours 51.
  12. Time difference. After just over 10 kilometers, the lead of the 4 is 20 seconds. . 11 am 50.
  13. 11 am 46. Lotto-Soudal sets the pace in the peloton. Lotto started with only Belgians, with Tim Wellens as the outspoken leader. .
  14. 11 am 43. Marlon Gaillard and Mathijs Paasschens jump forward, giving us 4 leaders. .
  15. 11 a.m. 43. 2 Belgians. Aaron Van Poucke and Mauri Vansevenant have a small lead. .
  16. 11 hours 41. Without Valverde or Alaphilippe, there is no one in this peloton who can say: take me to the foot of the Wall and I will ride top 3. I should be in good shape. I was able to ride a nice program in the run-up to these races. Jelle Vanendert.
  17. 11 am 41. Vanendert: “My condition must be good”.

    Vanendert: “My condition must be good”

  18. 11 am 39. High speed. The riders were immediately flown in. There is no slow start at all. Only when the flight of the day has formed will it stop. .
  19. 11 hours 32. The unofficial start has been given and after three kilometers we also get the official start. The gray weather does not immediately invite attacks, although it remains dry for the time being. .
  20. 11 am 32 match started
  21. 11.30 am. Scandinavian non-starters. Those who have a start list may delete the names of Jonas Gregaard (Den) and Odd Christian Eiking (Noo). Due to Gregaard’s forfeit, Astana (including Gorka Izagirre) will only start today with 5..
  22. 11 a.m. 27. Winner of the Tour and Winner of the Walloon Arrow. The track record of the Flèche Wallonne and the Tour de France share 8 names, but Tadej Pogacar can add a 9th name today. Can the Slovenian join the list of Evans, Fignon, Hinault, Zoetemelk, Merckx, Kübler and Coppi? If Pogacar wins, he will even be the first since Hinault 1979 to win the Walloon Arrow and the Tour in the same year. .
  23. 11 hours 13.
  24. 11 hours 05. Normally, the Flèche Wallonne has to wait until the last kilometer, and such a race certainly has its right to exist. But now the price may be more attractive. For once it is fascinating. How does Deceuninck-Quick Step run without Alaphilippe? Or Movistar? Radio commentator Carl Berteele.
  25. 09 a.m. 54. 3 active ex-winners absent. Over the past 6 years, Julian Alaphilippe and Alejandro Valverde have barely had 2 winners. Both are not there today, because they will take a breather after the World Cup in view of Liège-Bastogne-Liège on Sunday. Philippe Gilbert, winner in his wonder year 2011, is also absent. He is active in the BinckBank Tour. & Nbsp; .
  26. 09 hours 50.
  27. 09 am 48. Good morning! At 11.30 am the men will start in Herve, after which they set course for Huy, but you can already follow the race with the women. Can Anna van der Breggen triumph again 4 days after her world title? .
  28. 09 hours 48.
  29. 30-09-2020.
  30. 3 pm 43. Dumoulin spearheads at Jumbo-Visma. At Jumbo-Visma they count on Tom Dumoulin. The Dutchman, among others, gets our fellow countryman Laurens De Plus next to him in the Walloon Ardennes classic. .
  31. 29-09-2020.
  32. 16 hours 13.
  33. 16 hours 13.5-time winner Valverde not at the start. Alejandro Valverde does not get a chance to conquer a sixth victory in the Flèche Wallonne. The Spaniard is not in the Movistar selection. Valverde (40) will be at the start of Liège-Bastogne-Liège on Sunday, where he has already won 4 times. .
  34. 15 hours 10.
show less

Source link by

*The article has been translated based on the content of Source link by
. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here