Jasper Philipsen sprints in Ardooie to first stage victory in Bi …


Jasper Philipsen (UAE-Team Emirates) has won the first stage of the BinckBank Tour. Our young fellow countryman won the bunch sprint after a flat stage from Blankenberge to Ardooie ahead of Mads Pedersen and Pascal Ackermann. He is also the first leader. At four kilometers from the finish, half the peloton fell to the ground. Oliver Naesen, among others, fell hard.

READ ALSO.Caring for Oliver Naesen after a serious crash: “I can’t fully bend my joint”

Just like eleven of the past twelve editions, the Belgian-Dutch five-day stage race started with a stage towards the West Flemish Ardooie. On the honor roll in Ardooie: 2x Tom Boonen, 2x André Greipel, 2x Peter Sagan, Tyler Farrar, Mark Renshaw, Nacer Bouhanni, Jasper Stuyven and Sam Bennett. Then you know: bunch sprint.

Ludovic Robeet (Bingoal-Wallonie Bruxelles) and Thimo Willems (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise) provided the flight of the day. With a lead of one and a half minutes, they entered the three local rounds around Ardooie. At 20 kilometers from the finish their story was finished because in the peloton they had set their sights on the Golden Kilometer, where three times three bonus seconds could be won. Mathieu van der Poel, Mike Teunissen and Yves Lampaert each took such an intermediate sprint.

In the full final, Sean De Bie (Bingoal – Wallonie Bruxelles) attacked for a while, but the 28-year-old Kempenaar could not escape the raging peloton. That had meanwhile been more than halved after a fallen Israel Start-Up Nation rider dragged fifty riders to the ground at four kilometers from the finish. Oliver Naesen was one of the main victims. The leader of AG2R La Mondiale was pushed over the line with a battered knee by Belgian champion Dries De Bondt. Stijn Steels and Jurgen Roelandts were also injured.

The sprint seemed to end in a duel between the German Pascal Ackermann and the Dane Mads Pedersen, but in the last fifty more, a flashy Jasper Philipsen jumped like a devil out of a box the duo still passed along the left side of the road. For Philipsen it was the second victory of the season. On August 20, he also won the third stage in the Tour du Limousin. At the beginning of this year he also won the points jersey in the Tour Down Under.

Top 10

Jasper Philipsen (UAD)

Mads Pedersen (TFS)

3. Pascal Ackermann (BOH)

4. Danny Van Poppel (CWG)

Stefan Bissegger (EF1)

6. Alberto Dainese (SUN)

Nils Eekhoof (SUN)

8. Lorrenzo Manzin (TDE)

9. Mathieu van der Poel (AFC)

10. Tim Merlier (AFC)

Wednesday is an important day for the men who are aiming for the final classification. Then there is an individual time trial of 11 kilometers in and around Vlissingen on the menu.

Source link by https://www.nieuwsblad.be/cnt/dmf20200929_95328617

*The article has been translated based on the content of Source link by https://www.nieuwsblad.be/cnt/dmf20200929_95328617
. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here