Laureus World Sports Awards: Messi challenges Nadal, Hamilton and Marquez for the sporting title of the year


The Laureus World Sports Awards 2020 come alive. The international press has sanctioned the nominees of the 20th edition: the greatest sportsmen, sportsmen and women must now wait a little more than a month to know who will win the prestigious Laureus statuette at the international award ceremony to be held in Berlin, next February 17th. Rafael Nadal, a three-time Laureus Award winner and world tennis number one, will compete for Lewis Hamilton, six-time Formula 1 world champion, Marc Marquez, six times for the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Award MotoGP world champion, Lionel Messi, six times FIFA best player of the year worldwide. Among the candidates also Eliud Kipchoge, the first athlete to have run a marathon in less than two hours, and golf legend Tiger Woods, who won the 15th Major at the Masters.In the Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year category Megan Rapinoe, top scorer and Golden Ball in the FIFA Women’s World Cup, is competing with gymnastics star Simone Biles, athletics champions Allyson Felix and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, the world’s first Asian tennis player Naomi Osaka, and the American alpine skiing champion Mikaela Shiffrin.
The American women’s national football team, winner of the FIFA Women’s World Cup, and Liverpool FC, which has won the Champions League, are the football teams that are candidates for the Laureus World Team of the Year. Together with them, the Mercedes AMG Petronas team, winner of the world title of manufacturers and drivers of Formula One, the 15th South African rugby world cup, the Toronto Raptors, the first Canadian franchise to have won the NBA ring and the national team Spanish men’s basketball team, two-time Fiba World Cup winner.15-year-old Cori “Coco” Gauff, tennis revelation, is vying to win the Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year with Canadian tennis player, as well as the first woman to win a US Open on her debut, Bianca Andreescu, the first ever Colombian winner of the Tour de France Egan Bernal, the surprising Japanese men’s rugby team, who made headlines in the rugby world cup, the former heavyweight champion in boxing Andy Ruiz Jr and the American swimming star Regan Smith.

The candidates for the Laureus World Comeback of the Year enhance the determination and tenacity of the athletes who have overcome obstacles and difficulties, successfully returning to the playing field. Andy Murray, who after two hip surgeries won the first ATP title, interrupting a 31-month fast of victories, contends for the coveted prize at Liverpool, capable of imposing himself in the UEFA Champions League semifinal.

Among the nominees are also the 19 year old German Formula 3 driver Sophia FlOrsch, who returned to the track after his car hit a barrier at 273 km / h in the race in 2018, the Australian rugby star Christian Lealiifano, who returned to represent his Country in the rugby world cup, after defeating leukemia, the basketball star Kawhi Leonard who, after the injury, contributed to the Toronto Raptors’ first NBA ring, and the American swimmer Nathan Adrian, who after recovering from a testicular cancer won its 15th and 16th world title.

Six of the most titled Paralympic athletes of 2019 make up the shortlist for the Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability Award. Dutch Cuban wheelchair tennis star Diede de Groot, Paralympic skier and cyclist Oksana Masters, the Dutch paratrooper and paratriatlete Jetze Plat, the Swiss marathon star, join the Cuban Omara Durand, the world’s fastest Paralympic in 2019 as well as the 800m T54 world record holder, Manuela Schar, and finally the British seven-time winner of a gold in the Paralympic swimming at the 2019 Alice Tai World Championships.

In the category Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year we find the world surf champions Italo Ferreira and Carissa Moore, to which is added the winner of the Action Sportsperson 2019 award, as well as snowboard world champion, Chloe Kim and 11-year-old Brazilian Rayssa Leal for skateboarding, the youngest candidate of the 2020 Laureus Awards. The world skateboarding champion Nyjah Huston and Mark McMorris, Canadian snowboarding star gold medalist in slopestyle at the X-Games, are also in the running.

In addition, sports enthusiasts will be able to express their preference on the occasion of the 20th edition of the Laureus World Sports Awards with the public vote for the Laureus Sporting Moment: 2000 – 2020, which celebrates the power that sports have in transforming people’s lives. “Sport unites us” is in fact the slogan conveyed on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of Laureus. The Laureus Sporting Moment Award presents a list of the 20 most exciting sporting moments of the last 20 years worldwide. They represent an example of sporting values ​​such as fair play, sportiness, humanity, overcoming adversity, dedication and the power to unite through sport … all founding values ​​of the Laureus movement. It is possible to vote as of now one of the 20 competing moments, on the website


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

8 − four =