Nafi Thiam Missed in Eleven List of IAAF Female Athlete of the Year


The International Athletics Federation (IAAF) announced Tuesday the list of the eleven nominees who will compete for the title of female athlete of the year 2019. Nafi Thiam, winner of the Trophy in 2017, and only Belgian having obtained, this time is not on the list.

On the contrary, of course, the Dutch Sifan Hassan, author of the only doubled 1,500m / 10,000m of history at the recent Doha World.

American Dalilah Muhammad, who won the 400m hurdles and improved her world record at the same time, is also among the contenders, as well as Kenyan Brigid Kosgei, who dropped the world record marathon Sunday Sunday Chicago.

The other nominees all conquered the gold in Doha, like the British Katarina Johnson-Thompson, who dethroned Nafi Thiam, silver medal.

The list also includes Kenyan Beatrice Chepkoech (steeple), Jamaican Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (100m), Russian Mariya Lasitskene (high jump), Germany's Malaika Mihambo (long jump), Bahraini Salwa Eid Naser (400m), Kenyan Hellen Obiri (5.000m) and Venezuelan Yulimar Rojas (triple-jump).

The winner will be nominated by three juries: the IAAF Board of Directors which has 50% of the votes, against 25% for the IAAF members, and 25% for the public who can vote via Twitter and Facebook until November 4th.

The trophies will be awarded at the IAAF Gala on 23 November in Monaco. The list of athletes nominated for the men's title was disclosed Monday. The 2018 winners were Kenyan Eliud Kipchoge (marathon) and Colombian Caterine Ibarguen (long jump and triple jump).

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

3 − 1 =