Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Virgil Van Dijk Finalists for FIFA Player of the Year


    </p><div itemprop="articleBody">
            <p>MILAN - Dutch defender Virgil van Dijk joins five-time winners Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi as finalists for FIFA&#39;s Player of the Year award. American striker Megan Rapinoe is a favorite for this women&#39;s honor.

The unveiling of the three finalists in each category – including the best coach and the best goalkeeper – took place Monday in San Siro. The winners will be announced at a ceremony to be held on 23 September at the famous Scala Theater in Milan.

Luka Modric, who won the title last year after leading Croatia to the World Cup final, was not selected as one of the 10 finalists.

Van Dijk was retained in the company of Ronaldo and Messi after helping Liverpool win the Champions League in June.

Rapinoe is competing with teammate Alex Morgan and England striker Lucy Bronze.

The three men's best men's finalists are in the Premier League: Jürgen Klopp of Liverpool, Pep Guardiola of Manchester City and Mauricio Pochettino of Tottenham.

While Klopp won the Champions League with Liverpool and Guardiola guided City to a second consecutive Premier League title, Pochettino never won a title in his coaching career, even though he led Tottenham to the final of the Champions League.

US coach Jill Ellis, who has won two consecutive World Cup titles before leaving after more than five years at the helm, is competing for the best coach in women's football. She is competing with Englishman Phil Neville and Dutchman Sarina Wiegman. The Netherlands lost to the United States in the World Cup final.

Liverpool also has a candidate for the honor of the best goalkeeper. Alison Becker faces Ederson of City and Marc-André ter Stegen of Barcelona.

Christiane Endler, Hedvig Lindahl and Sari van Veenendaal are the three finalists for the Guardian of the Year honor.

The winners will be chosen by the coaches and captains of the national teams, the selected media and by the vote of the amateurs online.

        </div><script >
    !function (f, b, e, v, n, t, s) {
        if (f.fbq) return;
        n = f.fbq = function () {
            n.callMethod ?
                    n.callMethod.apply(n, arguments) : n.queue.push(arguments)
        if (!f._fbq) f._fbq = n;
        n.push = n;
        n.loaded = !0;
        n.version = '2.0';
        n.queue = ();
        t = b.createElement(e);
        t.async = !0;
        t.src = v;
        s = b.getElementsByTagName(e)(0);
        s.parentNode.insertBefore(t, s)
    }(window, document, 'script',
    fbq('init', '1155560281214305');
    fbq('track', 'PageView');
</script><script>(function(d, s, id) {
            var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)(0);
            if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
            js = d.createElement(s); = id;
            js.src = "";
            fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
        }(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));</script></pre>

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

3 × 3 =