Tour of Spain – Arndt stage, Nicolas Edet new leader


For the third time on this 74th Tour of Spain, the stage victory came back to the breakaway. In Igualada, Nikias Arndt (Team Sunweb) won on this 8th stage. The German sprinter advanced Alex Aranburu (Caja Rural) and Tosh Van der Sande (Lotto-Soudal). This is the first win of the season for the 27-year-old runner. This breakaway also benefits Nicolas Edet (Cofidis). The French climber takes the red jersey at the end of this stage. The peloton arrives more than 9 minutes late.

The route of La Vuelta and Tour of Spain 2019!

21 riders in the breakaway with Stybar, Teuns and Herrada

The start of the race from Valls is lively. All teams want to put a man in front of the race. In the end, 21 riders managed to extricate themselves from the pack. Zdenek Stybar (Deceuninck-Quick Step), the winner of the 6th stage Jesus Herrada (Movistar) and the former red jersey of this 74th Tour of Spain Dylan Teuns (Bahrain-Merida) are part of the breakaway of the day. After 50 kilometers of race, the 21 riders have more than 4 minutes advanced on the peloton controlled by the team leader Astana and Movistar as well as the formations of the sprinters who hope to pass the coast of the day to play the win in Igualada.

More than 6 minutes ahead for the breakaway, Nicolas Edet virtual red jersey

As we approach the coast of the day, the Puerto de Monserrat (7.7 to 6.7% average), the breakaway is more than 6 minutes ahead of the peleton. When climbing this coast, the peloton does not make the effort to narrow the gap with the front runners. The 21 fugitives will play the stage victory in Igualada. The advance of the leading men increases and allows the French climber Nicolas Edet (Cofidis) to be the virtual leader of this Vuelta after crossing to the summit of Puerto de Monserrat.

Nikias Arndt wins, Nicolas Edet in red

Under the flood, Fernando Barcelo (Euskadi Basque Country – Murias), Ruben Guerreiro (Katusha-Alpecin) and Martijn Tusveld (Team Sunweb) extricate themselves from the leading group in the descent of the Puerto de Monserrat. They count 10 seconds ahead of the pursuers. Alex Aranburu (Caja Rural) makes the effort to join the group of three ahead before the last ten kilometers. The pursuers managed to get back to the leading men. Finally, Nikias Arndt (Team Sunweb) wins in front of Alex Aranburu (Caja Rural) and Tosh Van der Sande (Lotto-Soudal). Nicolas Edet (Cofidis) takes the red jersey. The peloton arrives more than 9 minutes late.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

5 − two =