Champions League: Brugge FC with PSG and Real Madrid, Genk with Liverpool and Naples


Brugge FC and Racing Genk will receive real posters this season in the Champions League.

ATThe day after qualifying for the UEFA Champions League pool, the group draw was held on Thursday at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco. The 32 qualified teams were divided into four hats of eight formations.

A complicated draw

KRC Genk, Belgian champion, will face Liverpool, Naples and Salzburg in group E, in the group phase of the UEFA Champions League. Brugge FC have inherited from Paris Saint-Germain, Real Madrid and Galatasaray Istanbul, in Group A, in the draw held early Thursday in Monaco. Wesley Sneijder, the captain of caps with the Netherlands (134), and one of the best goalkeepers, the Czech Petr Cech, proceeded to draw.

Despite his title and his direct qualification, Genk figured in the 4th "hat". His national runner-up in Bruges, who had successively passed the third qualifying round (against Dynamo Kiev) and the dams (against Linz ASK), came from the third, which prevented him from meeting Inter Milan, Lyon or Valencia.

The six days of this first phase will take place between September 17th and December 11th. The first two of the eight groups of four will join the knockout stages played in February 2020 and the draw is scheduled for December 16. The third placed will be sent to the round of 32 in the Europa League. The fourth will be eliminated.

The final will be played on May 30, 2020 at the Atatürk Olympic Stadium in Istanbul, Turkey. This evening, the club will be named after the English club Liverpool FC, winner of its 6th trophy, on 1 June 2-0 in the final to the detriment of Tottenham.

Fourteen years ago, and the 2005-2006 season, Belgium had not had two representatives among the 32 teams competing for the most prestigious club competition in Europe and in the world.

The schedule of each group will only be known at the end of the evening.

The groups

Group A: PSG, Real Madrid, FC Brugge, Galatasaray

Group B: Bayern Munich, Tottenham, Olympiakos, Red Star of Belgrade

Group C: Manchester City, Dinamo Zagreb, Shakhtar Donetsk, Atalanta Bergamo

Group D: Juventus, Atletico Madrid, Bayer Leverkusen, Lokomotiv Moscow

Group E: Liverpool, Naples, Salzburg, Genk

Group F: Barcelona FC, Borussia Dortmund, Inter Milan, Slavia Prague

Group G: Zenit, Benfica, Lyon, RB Leipzig

Group H: Chelsea, Ajax Amsterdam, Valence, Lille

The pots

Pot 1
: Liverpool (Ang, defending champion), Chelsea (Ang, UEFA Europa League winner), Barcelona (Spain), Manchester City (Ang), Juventus (Ita), Bayern (All), Paris SG (Fra), Zenit St. Petersburg (Rus).

Pot 2
Real Madrid (Spain), Atlético Madrid (Spain), Borussia Dortmund (Italy), Napoli (Ita), Shakhtar Donetsk (Ukraine), Tottenham (Ang), Ajax Amsterdam (Spain) (P-B), Benfica (Por).

Pot 3
: Lyon (Fra), Bayer Leverkusen (All), Salzburg (Aut), Olympiakos (Greece), FC Brugge (Bel), Valencia (Spain), Inter Milan (Ita), Dinamo Zagreb (Croatia).

Pot 4
: Moscow Lokomotiv (Rus), Genk (Bel), Galatasaray (Tur), Leipzig RB (All), Slavia Prague (Tch), Belgrade Red Star (Ser), Atalanta Bergamo (Ita), Lille (Fra).

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

4 + 6 =